budget travel, desserts, Desserts of the World, europe, food, foodies, Italy and Portugal 2015, meal of the day, Porto, Portugal, R'domus, restaurant, review, travel, travel journal
Comment 1

Why you should eat at R’domus when in Porto

1

View of R’domus from the street

During my first full day in Porto, after some sightseeing and a river cruise, I came across R’domus restaurant and I’m super happy that I did. There was a big sign on the street advertising their very affordable meal of the day which is what got my attention in the first place. Henrique, Paulo and Daniella, the three siblings that work at this local restaurant, are absolutely amazing! They really fed me well 🙂 In fact they fed me so well with their delicious food, I had to take dessert home, and that never happens!

R’domus offers very tasty Portuguese food for a very low price. My suggestion for you is that you skip the little overpriced riverside tapas places and you come straight here for a proper full meal. You won’t regret it! You should most definitely order the Meal of the Day. There will always be some sort of delicious meat on the menu, and the day I visited, they had sausages, but since I don’t eat meat anymore, I went for their fried Cod Cakes. When I stepped inside, and had a menu talk with all three of them, I instantly felt surprised and overwhelmed with how much food was offered for the low price. They explained to me that the meal of the day, besides the meat or fish part, comes with a salad, rice and chips (or fries) as well as a glass of wine. Paulo told me that the vegetable soup and bread appetizer, as well as the meal of the day with a glass of red wine, plus a coffee and a dessert all come to €6.50 to which I replied I will have it all then.

The red wine that was served along with my meal was delicious. The fried Cod cakes were super tasty and quiet large. The rice had a subtle seasoning which was really good and complemented the meal nicely. Everything was very tasty. Henrique even brought out a Port sample for me. 🙂 I even received a gift from them which was such a nice surprise. 🙂

Later that evening, I opened my packaged dessert at the apartment and found not one but two desserts waiting for me. Both equally amazing! One was a chocolate roll with small biscuit pieces inside, and the other was an Orange Torta; a very delicious spongy and fluffy moist orange cake. I was such a happy girl that day! What a great experience! 🙂

You can find their Facebook Page here: R’domus Facebook Page 

Restaurant Address: Rua da Arménia, 54 Porto, Portugal
Telephone Number: +351 22 203 9005

9

Henrique at the door

8

R’domus menu outside

2

Inside R’domus

3

Soup, bread, red wine and Port

4

Meal of the Day

5

Coffee and a mini orange cake 🙂

7

My present 🙂

6

the bill

11

and the delicious desserts

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Key Stops on Your Tour Around Mainland Europe | 100 Days of Sunshine

Leave a comment